Haram Ecode E120, E441, E542 , E904, E920, E921

Haram E-code E120 :Cochineal, Carminic acid, Carmines

Food category:color
Colourant, made from crushed insects. This popular colorant is used to impart a deep red shade to fruit juices, gelatins, candies (e. g. red smarties), shampoos. When used as a food additive, the dye must be labelled on packaging labels. Sometimes carmine is labelled as E120. An unknown percentage of people have been found to have allergies to carmine. Natural carmine dye used in food and cosmetics is unacceptable for Muslims because the dye is extracted from insects.

Haram E-code E441: Gelatine

Food category:Emulsifier, gelling agent, [animal origin]
Produced from all species of animals. Unfortunately information on origin can only be obtained from the producer. Specific halal gelatin is made from cattle.

Haram E-code E542:Bone phosphate


Food Category:Anti-caking agent [animal origin]

Produced from animal bones. Used as an anti-caking agent, emulsifier and source of phosphorous in food supplements. Main use, however, is in cosmetics (such as tooth paste). Found in dry products and cane sugar. Acceptable daily intake suggested by health authorities is upto 70 mg/kg bodyweight. Phosphates are normal essential salts for the body. In view of the need to avoid calcium deficiency, their use is limited, as they bind to calcium readily.

haram E-code E904:Shellac

Food category: Glazing agent [animal origin]
Natural polymer derived from certain species of lice from India . It is used as a coating found in products like Confectionary, fruits. Acceptable daily intake is not determined.

Haram E-code E920: L-cysteine hydrochloride

Food category: Improving agent [animal origin
]An essential amino acid, present in all protein (essential indicates that it is needed by the human body). Derived from proteins, including animal protein and hair. It is a bread enhancer and stabilises the structure of leavened bread. Acceptable daily intake is not determined.

Haram E-code E921:L-cysteine hydrochloride monohydrate

Food Category: Improving agent [animal origin]
An essential amino acid, present in all protein (essential indicates that it is needed by the human body). Derived from proteins, including animal protein and hair. It is a bread enhancer and stabilises the structure of leavened bread. Acceptable daily intake is not determined. E921 can be obtained from animal sources, including pork making it haram for muslims.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *